Programme
Search
Search
Wuppertal

DISCOVER WUPPERTAL, METROPOLIS

OF THE BERGISCHES LAND

Situated in the centre of North Rhine-Westphalia in the business heartland of the Rhine-Ruhr region, Wuppertal today is a town on the move. The entrepreneurial spirit of its 19th century industrial heyday lives on today in the form of small, creative think tanks right through to innovative global players. The redesign of the entrance to the city centre (and the area around the Wuppertal main station) as part of the major Döppersberg project is just one example of the forward-looking development of a town in which there is much to discover.


The city

SUSPENSION RAILWAY & LUISENVIERTEL

Many visitors immediately associate Wuppertal with its famous suspension railway. Its construction in 1901 was a pioneering, innovative feat of engineering. It continues to be used to this day as a popular mode of public transport for the town. The route connects neighbourhoods along the valley with each other. Since 2017, new carriages have been gliding over the Wupper. A trip today is just as worthwhile as it was 100 years ago.

It is only a stone’s throw from the Historische Stadthalle to the centre of Wuppertal Elberfeld. A stroll through the town centre, which extends as far as the Luisenviertel (the picturesque old town area around Luisenstraße), provides opportunity for shopping or whiling away the hours in a wide choice of restaurants or cafes.

CITY TOURS

Wuppertal Marketing offers a range of different city tours and guided visits so you can get to know the town. Discover its unusual topography – the “San Francisco of North-Rhine Westphalia”, experience the insights and views offered by the “90 Minute Vintage Bus Ride” or take the classic, trip with the suspension railway in the historic “Kaiserwagen”.

DANCE, THEATRE & OPERA

The world-famous dance ensemble Tanztheater Pina Bausch, which is based in the newly renovated opera house, is frequently on tour. However, with a bit of luck, your visit will coincide with one of their highly regarded performances in Wuppertal.

An opera performance in the beautifully restored 1950s building is quite an experience. And theatre productions of the Wuppertaler Bühnen found their new home in the “Engelsgarten”.

MUSEUMS

The Von der Heydt Museum, with its famous collection, is also to be found in the heart of Elberfeld while, not far away, the well-known design faculty of Wuppertal University has established its Institut für Kunst and Design im Kolkmannhaus (Art and Design Institute) in a former factory on the banks of the Wupper.

Art lovers from around the world are enthralled by the Skulpturenpark Waldfrieden by internationally renowned sculptor Tony Cragg, who is based in Wuppertal. The setting is the one-time private gardens of the Wuppertal entrepreneur and paint manufacturer Dr. Kurt Herberts, in which there is a permanent exhibition of the works of Tony Cragg. Temporary exhibitions by guest artists and musical events also regularly take place in the park.

In the Engelsgarten

The Engels-Haus in Wuppertal-Barmen is a hotspot for the economic and social history of early industrialisation. Friedrich Engels was the son of a local textile manufacturer. In 1848, he wrote the communist manifesto together with Karl Marx. In 2020, Wuppertal will be marking the 200th birthday of Friedrich Engels.

CINEMA, CABARET & MORE

The Cinemaxx, Cinema and the Rex offer films to suite every taste. The Forum Maximum presents cabaret and fringe shows at various venues (including ours). And the various local town magazines contain information about what’s on in the town’s lively club scene and gives details of current concerts and parties.

TOWN & COUNTRY

If you want to relax from a heavy conference schedule by “returning to nature”, you will find green parks set among hills offering wonderful views of the town and the rolling, wooded landscape nearby. A highlight is the Grüne Zoo Wuppertal, Wuppertal’s green zoo, one of Germany’s most scenic zoos.

A further bonus for such a hilly town as Wuppertal is the Nordbahntrasse. With the support of local citizens, the 23 km long former railway line has been turned into a very popular cycling, skating, jogging and walking route. It offers unusual views of the city and iconic one time train stations. This exemplary project was widely acclaimed throughout Germany and has won several awards.

A medieval castle, Schloss Burg, the one-time home of the counts von Berg, the 19th century, iron Müngstener Brücke railway bridge and the romantic setting of the Altenberg cathedral are also classics when it comes to day trip destinations in the Bergisches Land.

A guided canoe outing on the “wild Wupper” is also very refreshing. There are many different stretches of the river to choose from that offer amazing views of flora and fauna.

WELLNESS & SPORTS

Wellness facilities are available just a short distance from the Stadthalle, where enthusiasts can indulge in an architectural treasure from the 1950s – what the Wuppertalers call the Schwimmoper or “swimmers’ opera house”. In this lavishly renovated swimming pool, reopened in 2010, you can work on improving your fitness or just relax in the sauna and salt grotto.

If that isn’t enough, the local area offers a wide range of wellness-, fitness- and sport facilities. Golfers particularly value the region for its many golf courses, such as the Golf-Club Bergisch Land or Golfclub Felderbach.

For climbing fans, the Bouldercafé und -Halle offers steep walls in the urban setting of old factory production halls.

ACTIVE MEETINGS

Get moving with our fringe programme partner Deepwood. With their carefully timed planning, team events are ideal for loosening up your conferences. The balance of indoor and outdoor activities revives and refreshes body and mind – a welcome relief after hours of mental focus, glued to a seat.

In collaboration with Deepwood GmbH, we organise activities such as archery, raft-building, team missions, cocktail workshops, GPS tours, iPad trophies, alchemist quizzes, wine events, flip chart workshops, winter specials and much more.

Knowledge Hub

“The University of Wuppertal regards internationally visible, top-level research and cooperative regional engagement as two sides of the same coin. It takes on specific issues from businesses, works on developing new technical solutions together with industry partners and in this way provides an impetus for innovation in the region.” (Vice chancellor Prof. Lambert T. Koch)

A focus on synergies and the creation of links between science and the economy not only drive the rapidly growing University of Wuppertal, but also other powerful institutions in Wuppertal, incl. the world-renowned Wuppertal Institute or the Business Development Corporation based in the w-tec technology park.

It is obvious that this strategy works. According to a survey by the German Economic Institute, the Bergisches Land ranks sixth among Germany’s 14 leading innovation regions. The Bergish Three and Wuppertal Marketing support this connectivity. Wuppertal makes sure it is fit for the future early on: the town’s junior university is one of a kind.

A setting for films

Film locations in Wuppertal are not only restricted to the Historische Stadthalle. The whole town is a favourite for film and television productions and a place where renowned directors such as Tom Tykwer (who was born in Wuppertal), Wim Wenders and many others choose to film. Award-winning productions such as the successful mystery web series “Wishlist” are made here. This popularity comes from the many and varied facets of Wuppertal, its inspiring neighbourhoods and fascinating topography.

Hotels

FROM BOUTIQUE TO BUDGET

The range of hotels in Wuppertal is growing. There is a wide selection of established, re-designed and new accommodation available within walking distance or close to the Historische Stadthalle. (All in all almost 500 further beds will have been added by the end of the 2017/2018 season. More are planned.)

 

 Cat.Rooms

Distance

Vienna House Easy

****130

0.05 km

Holiday Inn Express
(opening planned: 2019)

 164

0.40 km

Hotel Arcade

***40

0.55 km

Hotel Astor

***44

0.60 km

Inter City Hotel

****160

0.70 km

Post Boutique Hotel
(opening planned: 2019)

 73

0.90 km

City Partner Hotel

***56

1.00 km

ibis Wuppertal City

**82

1.10 km

Garni Miraflores

 6

1.20 km

Mc Dreams Hotel

**68

1.40 km

B&B Hotel Wuppertal

 185

1.40 km

Hotel Nüller Hof

**24

2.80 km

TRYP by Wyndham

***128

3.80 km

Waldhotel Eskeshof

****76

5.70 km

Park Villa (Superior)

****+25

6.80 km

Horather Schanze

***16

7.50 km

Hotel Neuenhof

***14

10.10 km

ibis budget

*76

12.30 km

Golfhotel Vesper

****70

12.70 km

 

Hotels Overview and addresses

 

Restaurants

Just a few minutes’ walk from the Johannisberg, the green hill on which the Historische Stadthalle is located, will take you into the Elberfelder City or the Luisenviertel with their bars, cafes and restaurants to suit every taste and budget.

Find at tripadvisor

Programm
Suche
Suche
Wuppertal

Die bergische Metropole

Wuppertal entdecken

Mitten in Nordrhein-Westfalen in der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr gelegen, ist Wuppertal heute eine Stadt in Bewegung. Der Unternehmergeist ihrer industriellen Blütezeit im 19. Jahrhundert lebt weiter – heute in Form von kleinen, kreativen Ideenwerkstätten bis hin zu innovativen Global Playern. Die Umgestaltung des Entrees zur Innenstadt (rund um den Hauptbahnhof) im Rahmen des Großprojektes Döppersberg ist nur ein Beispiel für die zukunftsorientierte Entwicklung einer Stadt, in der es viel zu entdecken gibt.


Die Stadt

Schwebebahn & Luisenviertel

Vielen Besuchern fällt zu Wuppertal sofort die berühmte Schwebebahn ein. Ihr Bau war 1901 eine bahnbrechende, innovative Ingenieursleistung und bis heute ist sie als Verkehrsmittel in der Stadt im Einsatz. Ihre Strecke verbindet die Stadtteile entlang der Talachse miteinander. Seit 2017 schwebt sie mit neuen Wagen über die Wupper und ist heute genauso erlebenswert wie vor 100 Jahren.

Von der Historischen Stadthalle aus sind Sie mit wenigen Schritten in der Innenstadt von Wuppertal Elberfeld. Die City, die sich bis ins angrenzende Luisenviertel – die inoffizielle „Altstadt“ – erstreckt, lädt mit Shopping-Möglichkeiten und einer vielfältigen Gastronomie-Szene zum Bummeln und Verweilen ein.

Stadttouren

Wuppertal Marketing bietet zum Kennenlernen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Stadttouren und -führungen an. Entdecken Sie die außergewöhnliche Topografie der Stadt – des „San Franciscos Nordrhein-Westfalens“. Erleben Sie Einblicke und Ausblicke auf der „90 Minuten Oldtimerbusfahrt“ oder beim Klassiker, der „historischen Schwebebahnfahrt mit dem Kaiserwagen“.

Tanz, Theater & Oper

Das weltbekannte Tanztheater Pina Bausch, das im stilecht restaurierten Opernhaus beheimatet ist, ist zwar vielfach auf Tournee, doch mit etwas Glück trifft sich Ihr Besuch mit einer der vielbeachteten Aufführungen in Wuppertal.

Opernvorstellungen in dem wunderschönen restaurierten 50er Jahre Bau sind ein Erlebnis. Und im neuen „Theater am Engelsgarten“ erwartet Sie das Schauspiel der Wuppertaler Bühnen.

Museen

Auch das Von der Heydt-Museum mit seiner berühmten Sammlung liegt im Herzen Elberfelds. Unweit, in der „Hofaue“, hat die namhafte Designfakultät der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal ihr sehenswertes „Institut für Kunst und Design im Kolkmannhaus“ in einem alten Fabrikbau am Wupperufer eingerichtet.

Kunstfreunde aus aller Welt begeistert der Skulpturenpark Waldfrieden des international renommierten und in Wuppertal ansässigen Bildhauers Tony Cragg. Wechselausstellungen von Gastkünstlern und musikalische Events ergänzen die ständige Ausstellung von Craggs Skulpturen im ehemaligen Privatpark des Wuppertaler Unternehmers und Lackfabrikanten Prof. Dr. Kurt Herberts.

Im Engelsgarten

Zentrum für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte der Frühindustrialisierung ist das Engels-Haus in Wuppertal-Barmen. Hier wurde Friedrich Engels 1820 in eine Textilfabrikanten-Dynastie hineingeboren. 1848 verfasste er gemeinsam mit Karl Marx das „Kommunistische Manifest“. Engels war Philosoph, Gesellschaftstheoretiker, Journalist, Historiker, kommunistischer Revolutionär und erfolgreicher Unternehmer. 2020 feiert Wuppertal den 200. Geburtstag seines berühmten Sohnes.

Kino & Kleinkunst

Das Cinemaxx, Cinema und Rex bieten Kino für jeden Geschmack. Kabarett und Kleinkunst zeigt u. a. das Forum Maximum in diversen Spielstätten (unter anderem auch bei uns). Einen Überblick über die lebendige Clubszene der Stadt vermitteln die Stadtmagazine mit Infos zu aktuellen Konzerten und Partys.

Stadt & Natur

Wer in der Natur einen Ausgleich zum Tagungsprogramm sucht, findet viel Grün in den Parkanlagen, die von den Höhen einmalige Ausblicke in die bergische Landschaft und auf die Stadt gewähren. Ein Highlight ist der Grüne Zoo Wuppertal, einer der landschaftlich schönsten Zoos Deutschlands.

Eine weitere Bereicherung für eine so bergige Stadt wie Wuppertal ist die Nordbahntrasse. Durch bürgerliches Engagement wurden über 23 Kilometer ehemalige Bahntrasse in eine sehr beliebte Radler-, Skater-, Jogger- und Flanierstrecke verwandelt – mit ungewöhnlichen Per­spektiven auf die Stadt. Das vorbildliche Projekt fand deutschlandweit Anerkennung und wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Das Schloss Burg – einstiger Sitz der Grafen von Berg –, der Müngstener Brückenpark oder der Altenberger Dom gehören ebenfalls zu den Klassikern der Ausflugsziele im Bergischen Land.

Erfrischend ist auch eine geführte Kanutour auf der „wilden Wupper“. Zur Wahl stehen verschiedene Streckenabschnitte, die fantastische Perspektiven auf Flora und Fauna entlang des Flusses bieten.

Wellness & Sport

Wellnessfreuden finden Sie gleich nebenan – in einem architektonischen Kleinod aus den 50er Jahren – in der „Schwimmoper“. In dem aufwendig restaurierten und 2010 neueröffneten Bad kann man sich sportiv betätigen oder in Sauna und Salzgrotte wohlig entspannen.

Darüberhinaus gibt es im gesamten Stadtgebiet eine Vielzahl anderer Wellness-, Fitness- und Sportmöglichkeiten. Besonders Golfer schätzen die Region für die vielfältigen Platz-Angebote, z. B. im Golf-Club Bergisch Land oder Golfclub Felderbach/Frielinghausen.

Für Klettersport-Freunde bietet das nahe gelegene Boulder-Café und -Halle steile Wände in der urbanen Atmosphäre alter Fabrikhallen.

Bewegte Tagung

Mit unseren Rahmenprogramm-Partner Deepwood werden Sie aktiv. Aufgrund der exakten Planbarkeit sind TeamEvents ideal zur Auflockerung Ihrer Tagungen. Ausgleichende Indoor- und Outdoor-Aktivitäten schaffen Belebung und Erfrischung von Körper und Geist – nach einigen Stunden der mentalen Konzentration und des Sitzens eine Wohltat.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Deepwood GmbH organisieren wir für Sie zum Beispiel solche Aktivitäten: Bogenschießen, Floßbau, TeamMission, Cocktailworkshops, GPS-Touren, iPad-Trophys, Alchemistenquiz, Weinevents, Flipchart-Workshops, Winterspecials u.v.m.

Wissensstandort

„Die Universität Wuppertal versteht international sichtbare Spitzenforschung und kooperatives regionales Engagement als zwei Seiten einer Medaille. Sie nimmt konkrete Fragestellungen der Unternehmen auf, arbeitet zusammen mit Praxispartnern an neuen technologischen Lösungen und setzt auf diese Weise Innovationsimpulse für die Region.“ (Rektor Prof. Dr. Lambert T. Koch)

Synergien nutzen, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft verbinden: Das tun sowohl die stark wachsende Bergische Uni als auch viele weitere starke Institutionen in Wuppertal. Darunter das weltbekannte Wuppertal Institut oder die Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft, ansässig im Technologiepark w-tec.

Der Erfolg dieser Strategie ist sichtbar: Das Bergische Land belegt nach einer Studie des Instituts der deutschen Wirtschaft den sechsten Platz von 14 dominierenden Innovationsregionen Deutschlands. Die Bergischen 3 und Wuppertal Marketing unterstüt­zen die Vernetzung. Und die Zukunftsfähigkeit fängt in Wuppertal früh an: Die Junior-Uni ist weltweit einzigartig.

Filmstadt

Nicht nur die Historische Stadthalle ist ein beliebter Drehort. Ganz Wuppertal ist geschätzte Location der Film- und TV-Produktion. Namhafte Regisseure wie Tom Tykwer (ein „echter“ Wuppertaler) oder Wim Wenders filmen hier. Ausgezeichnete Produktionen wie die erfolgreiche Mystery-Webserie „Wishlist“ werden hier gedreht. Das liegt am Facettenreichtum der Stadt – inspirierenden Orten und spannender Topographie.

Hotels

Von Boutique bis Budget

Die Hotellerie-Szene Wuppertals wächst. In fußläufiger und naher Umgebung der Historischen Stadthalle stehen Ihnen zahlreiche bewährte, frisch gestaltete und neue Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten zur Auswahl. (Bis zum Ende der 2017/2018 kommen fast 500 Betten hinzu. Weitere sind in Planung.)

 Kat.Zimmer

Entfernung

Vienna House Easy

****130

0,05 km

Holiday Inn Express
(geplante Eröffnung 2019)

 164

0,40 km

Hotel Arcade

***40

0,55 km

Hotel Astor

***44

0,55 km

Inter City Hotel

****160

0,70 km

Post Boutique Hotel
(geplante Eröffnung 2019)

 73

0,90 km

City Partner Hotel

***56

1,00 km

ibis Wuppertal City

**82

1,10 km

Garni Miraflores

 6

1,20 km

Mc Dreams Hotel

**68

1,40 km

B&B Hotel Wuppertal

 185

1,40 km

Hotel Nüller Hof

**24

2,80 km

TRYP by Wyndham

***128

3,80 km

Waldhotel Eskeshof

****76

5,70 km

Park Villa (Superior)

****+25

6,80 km

Horather Schanze

***16

7,50 km

Hotel Neuenhof

***14

10,10 km

ibis budget

*76

12,30 km

Golfhotel Vesper

****70

12,70 km

 

Hotels Übersicht und Adressen

 

Restaurants

Vom Johannisberg, dem grünen Hügel auf dem die Historische Stadthalle gelegen ist, geht es in wenigen Minuten hinab in die Elberfelder City oder das Luisenviertel mit Bars, Cafés und Restaurants für jeden Geschmack.

Bei tripadvisor finden